Glädjen med att ha djur

Jag kan själv ge många, många exempel på hur mycket gläjde mina djur ger mig och hur många gånger jag varit tacksam att jag har dom. Men detta gjorde mig tårögd när jag läste och gjorde mig återigen påmind om hur intelligenta djur är, och vilken glädje de ger oss människor varje dag!
 
 

I'd never had a cat - grew up with a dog. But my apartment wouldn't allow dogs and I needed a furry friend, so I decided to go to a shelter and rescue a feline. I told a few friends that I really wanted a black or grey cat, but I knew in my heart I'd fall for the first kitten I saw. That weekend, a friend having dinner with her in-laws called, saying that during dinner, they'd heard a tiny MEOW and found a very hungry, very sick, black kitten on the patio. They couldn't keep her and wanted to know if I would. "Of course!!!" said I. Her in-laws brought the kitten to a vet and other than extreme malnutrition and a few fleas, she was fine and adoptable.

She's been my best friend ever since. I've never known an animal as communicative as Daisy Serendipity.

And then, she saved my life.

I'd just had surgery to remove multiple kidney stones and was back at work, when I started to feel horrible. As the day wore on, I began to think I had the flu. I felt crummy, and the pain that had started in my head was working its way down my neck and shoulders. I skipped dinner and went to bed with an ice pack behind my neck. A few hours later, I was awakened by Daisy. She was "push-pawing" on my cheekbone (not her normal spot), and it really hurt!

When I opened my eyes, I could see Daisy's mouth moving. But I could hear nothing. I turned on the TV. Again, nothing. Starting to worry, I called 911, hoping someone could hear me. Luckily, the operator sent an ambulance. I remember very little from that point on, but the ER doctor came to visit me in the ICU. He told me my BP had been 30/20. I had Sepsis. And if Daisy Serendipity (aptly named, don't you think?) hadn't woken me up, I would have died in my sleep. She's my hero!

I saved her. She saved me. We are incredibly connected. Pure Love.

 
 
 

Kommentarer
Postat av: Frida

Gud vad fint! Djur kan ge en såå mycket!

2014-05-12 @ 22:02:37
Postat av: Anna

Åh , jag håller med dig! Har precis sålt mina två hästar efter 12 år och det känns mycket tufft...
Måste också säga att viken fin blogg du har !
Allt gott!
Anna

Svar: Tack Anna!
Ja det förstår jag att det känns tungt. Jag skulle aldrig kunna tänka mig ett liv utan djur. Just nu har jag sex katter och tillbringar en hel del tid i stallet där jag rider. Hästen är tyvärr inte min egen, men en dag ska jag ha egen häst. Och så hund igen, plus några höns och kanske även ett par får. Djur gör livet så mycket gladare och bättre :)
None None

2014-05-19 @ 13:46:43
URL: http://glimtarilivet.blogspot.se

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
bloglovin
RSS 2.0